Sleep – Maxwell Chandler

I did not like it but knew that she needed to have a female friend to whom she could confide things to. By an unspoken agreement, she settled on Claire.

Claire had a tough time concentrating, which combined with a terrible memory made her as appealing as someone in her role could be to me.

Lucia got what she wanted out of the arrangement too as she really only needed someone to listen. Ultimately, the who did not matter as it was not in her nature to ever listen to advice, save for what came from her Nona.

I overheard her on the phone once quite by accident. She was telling Claire that she liked to look at me sometimes when I slept as I appeared so innocent then. I wondered if she had come to this realization the previous night as I vaguely recalled having strange dreams that her staring could have caused.

Regardless, she was wrong. In sleep however I may look, it was not an aspect but a void as I was temporarily not there.

 

 

Not for use without permission. maxwellachandler@aol.com

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

